Image of Man Working on House Walls after Flooding

For those communities that have known flooding concerns, the NFIP maintains a listing of properties identified as either Repetitive Loss (RLP) or Severe Repetitive Loss (SRLP). A 2005 study by the Congressional Research Service (a branch of the library of Congress) reported that, over the life of the NFIP, 1% of the NFIP policies represented RLPs and that group accounted for 30% of the program’s losses. The study also identified several major contributors to RLPs including:

  • RLPs typically involve older properties that received grandfathering. In other words, NFIP flood mitigation rules and requirements do not apply to such structures since they existed prior to the establishment of the programs. The premiums charged for such properties are heavily subsidized rates; and
  • RLPs that suffer only partial losses (less than 50% of their value) do not have to be rebuilt according to floodplain management standards that apply to “substantially damaged” properties. Therefore, their vulnerability to future flood losses is maintained. This creates both a severity and a frequency problem.

Information from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Texas Water Development Board identified a total of 139 RLPs and 12 SRLPs within the City of San Antonio/Bexar County. RLP claims payments within the City of San Antonio/Bexar County totalled $4,403,895.31 while SRLP totalled $3,292,140.64. This data was obtained December 2013.

Weather Conditions

Emergency Links


Helpful Information

Connect With Us